SnapChat: The print media friendly ghost

 

I have always loved reading magazines, from the latest fashion trends, thought-provoking articles, quizzes and horoscopes, it is a favorite pastime of mine. However, when we (society) began to shift away from viewing print media on paper and moved to reading news and entertainment on screens, I stopped subscribing to my favorite magazines. Luckily, Snapchat has found a way to combine both digital and print media through their Discover feature. Here is a video introducing Discover:

 

Snapchat users can connect with their favorite publications such as People, National Geographic, Vice, Refinery29, Cosmo on Discover and read magazine articles, listicles and watch brief videos. Once users decide that they like a certain publications content they can subscribe and receive about 6-10 articles daily on Snapchat. Discover has enabled me to reconnect with my favorite publications and re-subscribe to the physical magazine. Now, I read daily articles on Snapchat Discover and read my monthly magazine subscription. This emerging media tactic may help the print media industry enhance their subscriptions both on and off line.

One comment

  1. omorganimc619 · September 26, 2016

    I am a HUGE fan of this feature. I remember when SnapChat first introduced the Discover feature and I was not a fan. Now that I have learned to use the feature I find myself learning a lot. I am also more likely to read through this platform than any other.

    On another note, I recently saw where SnapChat is changing its name to simply Snap. Check it out: http://venturebeat.com/2016/09/23/snapchat-changes-its-name-to-snap-unveils-camera-glasses/. What are your thoughts on this change?

    Like

Leave a comment